Guess The Tune Game


The English pop singer and songwriter Tracey Thorn was born in the south of England, in Hertfordshire. She entered the University of Hull and graduated in 1984 with Honors. During that period, specifically in 1982 Everything but the Girl was formed, and that was the band that brought her popularity. Many people associate the singer with that group; however Thorn is successful in solo projects as well.

Tracey’s musical career started in early 80’s, when she sang in the band called Marine Girls. They released two albums: Beach Party in 1981 and Lazy Ways in 1982. The same year Thorn issued her debut solo album A Distant Shore. Recorded only for 138 pounds, that work was acclaimed by the musical experts and it peaked at number 2 in the UK Indie Chart. However Marine Girls had not existed for a long time, because Thorn entered the University and made up her mind to concentrate on the studying and her new band Everything but the Girl. That group’s story started when Thorn met Ben Watt and soon they realized that their musical preferences coincided. Their first album Eden was released in 1984 and was well received by the music lovers. Everything but the Girl issued ten studio albums and gained a huge fan base all over the world. In that band Tracey developed herself as a musician and found her love: in 2009 the singer married Ben Watt. In 1998 Tracey gave birth to twin daughters and in 2001 the couple’s son was born. Basically Thorn started to spend a lot of time at home, taking care of her children, that is why Everything but the Girl have been on hiatus since 2002.

Tracey worked a lot with Massive Attack musicians and Protection became their first joint project. She recorded the vocals for compositions Protection and Better Things. The singer also took part in the creation of different musicians’ albums: The Style Council – she sang in the song Paris Match, The Go-Betweens (composition Head Full of Steam), Working Week’s single We Will Win and many others. In 1997 Tracey collaborated with the English DJ Adam F: they recorded his song called The Tree Knows Everything.

In 2007 Thorn issued her second solo album titled Out of the Woods. She worked on that record with such musicians as Cagedbaby, Charles Webster, Klas Lindblad, Martin Wheeler и Alex Santos. Out of the Woods turned out to be good and successful and it debuted well in American charts. Tracey’s third solo studio work Love And Its Opposite was released in 2010. It was recorded in Britain and Germany with invited musicians, such as Hot Chip's Al Doyle, The Invisible's Leo Taylor and others. Tracey described that album as a narration about herself, people around her and the real life after forty.

Studio Albums

Tracey Thorn, Tinsel And Lights mp3Tinsel And Lights
  • Folk Pop
  • Twee Pop
Tracey Thorn, Love and Its Opposite mp3Love and Its Opposite
Tracey Thorn's gentle and wonderfully emotional voice refines every song on her third album Love And Its Opposite, and this time around the singer has proved to be a really talented story-teller
  • Adult Contemporary
  • Folk Pop
Tracey Thorn, Out of the Woods mp3Out of the Woods
Out Of The Woods is a true reflection of who Tracey Thorn is right now. Musically it is a snapshot of so much music she has ever been into, capturing moments of late 70s disco, pastoral folk-psychedelic, dance floor pop bliss and stark balladry
  • Downtempo
  • House
  • Pop
  • Synth Pop
Tracey Thorn, A Distant Shore mp3A Distant Shore
  • Indie Pop
  • Twee Pop


Tracey Thorn, Night Time mp3Night Time
  • Synth Pop
  • House
Tracey Thorn, You Are A Lover mp3You Are A Lover
  • Pop
  • Electronic

Compilation albums

Listen to MP3 Music in the app because you deserve the best
or go to the mobile site