The rock band The Strokes, which got the well-deserved title of a legendary group, was formed in 1998 in New York. It was obvious since the very first rehearsals that the musicians would find the mutual understanding in no time. Actually that worked out and The Strokes began their career with fourteen songs, including Last Nite, The Modern Age, New York City Cops and other compositions that later became one of the most recognizable songs of the quintet. The Strokes’ demo proved to be extremely bright and interesting, so various labels had a strong competition to win the right to work with the young band. The Strokes preferred to collaborate with RCA and started preparing the material for their first studio recording.

The band’s debut album titled Is This It saw the light in 2001 and it made a real furore: the famous magazine NME placed Is This It to the seventh line in the list of 100 Best Albums, while the eminent issue Rolling Stone honored that studio attempt to become a part of a list of 500 Greatest Albums Of All Time. Of course, that kind of attention from the respected magazines was a great proof of high level of The Strokes’ performance. After such a strong debut numerous music lovers expected the rockers to present the extremely interesting continuation, and Room On Fire (2003) completely satisfied their expectations. The record got the Golden Status, which confirmed listeners’ interest in The Strokes’ creativity.

Three years later the quintet issued their third album titled First Impressions Of Earth (2006) that debuted at the very top of the United Kingdom chart. This time the musicians changed the sound a bit, however their compositions still were difficult to mix up with someone else’s: Heart In A Cage, Juicebox became real hits. Soon after the release of First Impressions Of Earth The Strokes went on a big tour that was followed by the break. They launched a new site in 2007, and in 2009 the musicians began working on a fresh material. In the interview The Strokes’ leader noted that they got “a mixture of 70’s rock and music from the future”. One way or another, the release of the studio attempt titled Angles took place in 2011 and there is absolutely no doubt that The Strokes’ new creation will be enjoyed not only by the band’s old fans, but also by all the connoisseurs of high quality music.

Studio Albums

The Strokes, Comedown Machine mp3Comedown Machine
  • Indie Rock
The Strokes, Angles mp3Angles
Angels, album number four by The Strokes, will unfold to the listener what they have become after five years of silence
  • Indie Rock
  • New Wave
The Strokes, First Impressions of Earth mp3First Impressions of Earth
The third album finds The Strokes fulfilling all that early promise and displaying a slow-evolving longevity that few would have ascribed to them. First Impressions of Earth is already a contender for best album of 2006
  • Indie Rock
  • Garage Rock Revival
The Strokes, Room on Fire mp3Room on Fire
  • Indie Rock
  • Garage Rock Revival
The Strokes, Is This It mp3Is This It
  • Indie Rock
  • Garage Rock Revival


The Strokes, Future Present Past mp3Future Present Past
  • Indie Rock
  • Post-Punk