Mike + The Mechanics


The British rock band Mike & The Mechanics was formed in the middle of the eighties as a side project of Mike Rutherford, co-founder of the legendary Genesis. Mike Rutherford knew perfectly what kind of sound he wanted to get, so the group immediately started working on their own material. Thereby it took them only one year to prepare and record the debut album. The self-titled long play Mike & The Mechanics (1985) proved to be strong and rememberable, so music lovers noticed it in practically no time. The rockers presented Silent Running, All I Need Is A Miracle and other hits on that album, so all in all these compositions turned out to become a proof that Mike & The Mechanics were really capable of creating amazing songs. Thus the band started their career in a truly confident way. Moreover, the time showed that it happened to be successful and productive indeed.

The musicians needed only three years to release the second album. Of course, music lovers had been waiting for the not less interesting continuation of the debut work. They wanted to get a studio attempt of the same level that had been established on the previous album and their expectations were completely satisfied. The album Living Years saw the light in 1988 and it peaked on the second place of Great Britain Albums Chart – the musicians did an excellent job. Also the song Nobody's Perfect got into numerous charts. Three years later the rockers’ discography was enlarged by a record Word Of Mouth (1991), which pleased fans with a hit lead composition Word Of Mouth. An active concert activity did not slow Mike & The Mechanics down in writing new compositions and preparing fresh material. The quantity of the band’s fans grew up every single year – many people enjoyed Mike & The Mechanics’ sincerity. Their fourth studio attempt titled Beggar On A Beach Of Gold was released in spring of 1995. That long play was very well received by critics and according to the tradition the rockers pleased listeners with the real hits, such as You've Really Got A Hold On Me, Over My Shoulder and many others. By the way the record’s name fits its status: Beggar On A Beach Of Gold was certified Gold in Great Britain, which stands for music lovers’ acknowledgment.

In 1996 the musicians made a great present to all the listeners by issuing a powerful compilation album Hits. As it goes from its title, Hits included the band’s best works: All I Need Is A Miracle, Another Cup Of Coffee, A Time And Place and other songs that are so much loved by the fans. Just on the eve of millennium the release of a work titled Mike & The Mechanics took place. This long play is also known as M6 – this record became number six in the rockers’ discography. Paul Young, percussionist and one of the band’s vocalists died in 2000, and the musicians decided to make a pause. The next long play Rewired saw the light in 2004. Due to that work Mike & The Mechanics let their listeners understand that the band still had lots of fresh ideas, and after a rest the rockers were ready to get to their favorite business. Having made such a confident step into the new millennium Mike & The Mechanics made their fans enjoy the new album and also refresh old compositions in memory. That tactics worked out perfectly – music lovers got fresh and long-awaited album The Road in 2011. That strong work, made on traditionally high level, was enjoyed by connoisseurs of great music in general and by the group’s faithful fans in particular. Anyways it was not a surprise at all: Mike & The Mechanics style and sound still can be hardly mixed up with someone else’s. After the release the band went on The Road tour in Great Britain.

Studio Albums

Mike + The Mechanics, Out of the Blue mp3Out of the Blue
  • Pop Rock
Mike + The Mechanics, Let Me Fly mp3Let Me Fly
  • Pop Soul
  • Pop Rock
Mike + The Mechanics, The Road mp3The Road
With their lineup renewed, Mike & The Mechanics released the seventh album, The Road. This is the band's first release in the last seven years
    Mike + The Mechanics, M6 mp3M6
    • Pop Rock
    • Soft Rock
    Mike + The Mechanics, Beggar on a Beach of Gold mp3Beggar on a Beach of Gold
    • Rock
    • Pop
    • Pop Rock
    Mike + The Mechanics, Word of Mouth mp3Word of Mouth
    • Pop/Rock
    Mike + The Mechanics, Living Years mp3Living Years
    • Rock
    • Pop
    • Pop Rock
    Mike + The Mechanics, Mike + The Mechanics mp3Mike + The Mechanics
    • Rock
    • Pop Rock
    • Synth Pop
    • Electronic

    Compilation albums

    Mike + The Mechanics, The Singles: 1985-2014 mp3The Singles: 1985-2014
    • Progressive Rock
    • Pop Rock