This rock band was started, when singer Adam Duritz - the former from The Himalayans - met guitarist Dave Bryson in 1991. They called their project Counting Crows, remembering the famous rhyme about the crow, and soon enlarged the line-up to five persons. Counting Crows specialized on live performances firstly and were a great success with the public, as each their concert is unique - Duritz and other musicians improvise on the scene, changing their creations and charging the public with their enormous energy. However, after Counting Crows performed at the Rock & Roll Hall Of Fame for Van Morrison, who refused to, the artists decided to write their solo album. In the autumn of 1993, the debut disc August and Everything After was ready. The noticeable single Mr. Jones became an unexpectedly big hit, while August and Everything After was sold with the speed of the legendary Nevermind by Nirvana.

During 1993 and 1994, Counting Crows toured along with Bob Dylan, Los Lobos, The Cranberries, The Rolling Stones and other stars. However, the instant fame had sad consequences for the musicians too - Counting Crows lost its drummer and Duritz got a nervous breakdown. This caused a temporal pause in live performances for the band. The next disc Recovering The Satellites was full of piercing folk ballads, exploring the dark sides of becoming famous unexpectedly. The sound on this work was harder, which was connected to the presence of second guitarist Dan Vickrey. Jim Bogios became the new drummer for Counting Crows later. In 1997, the band toured during the whole year, making only a small break for Duritz, who needed to recover his vocal cords. In 1999, the artists cheered the fans with the This Desert Life album - the single Colorbird was noticed and highly appreciated in the soundtrack for the Cruel Intentions film.

During the support tour for This Desert Life musician David Immerglück, a long-time friend of Counting Crows, became the full-right member of the band. In 2002, the forth album Hard Candy saw light. In 2003, they released the best hits compilation Films about Ghosts, which caught the eye of the public with its melodic and filled with light melancholy track Accidentally In Love. This song also featured the soundtrack of the animated film Shrek 2. In the summer 2006, Counting Crows released the live record New Amsterdam: Live at Heineken Music Hall, which contains the songs that cannot be heard on their studio albums. In the beginning of 2008, the long-awaited disc Saturday Nights and Sunday Mornings was issued. It became the first studio work by the band for the whole five years. The first part of this wonderful conceptual disc featured energetic, unexpected for the band tracks with a slight grunge flavor, while the second one is presented by the admired by listeners languid folk ballads.

Studio Albums

Counting Crows, Somewhere Under Wonderland mp3Somewhere Under Wonderland
  • Folk Rock
  • Pop Rock
Counting Crows, Echoes of The Outlaw Roadshow mp3Echoes of The Outlaw Roadshow
  • Folk Rock
  • Indie Pop
Counting Crows, Saturday Nights & Sunday Mornings mp3Saturday Nights & Sunday Mornings
Counting Crows' new album will hardly be a disappointment for their fans. Saturday Nights and Sunday Mornings offers a sufficient extent of material, which shows both the new spaces they are trying to embrace and the evolution of their original style
  • Pop/Rock
Counting Crows, Hard Candy mp3Hard Candy
  • Pop/Rock
Counting Crows, This Desert Life mp3This Desert Life
  • Pop/Rock
Counting Crows, August and Everything After mp3August and Everything After
  • Folk Rock
  • Adult Contemporary
  • Pop/Rock
  • Americana


Counting Crows, New Amsterdam: Live at Heineken Music Hall February 4-6, 2003 mp3New Amsterdam: Live at Heineken Music Hall February 4-6, 2003
This summer Counting Crows present us with a new concert recorded – New Amsterdam: Live at Heineken Music Hall, February 6, 2003. It is a unique chance if not to see then to hear the real Counting Crows, so don't miss it
  • Pop/Rock